Clean up your Azure Web Hosting DevOps environment

You’re all done with the tasks for this module. You can now move the work item to the Done state on Microsoft Azure web hosting Boards and clean up your Microsoft Azure DevOps environment.

Move the work item to Done

In this part, you move the work item that you assigned to yourself earlier in this module, Create unit tests, to the Done column.

In practice, the definition of “Done” often means that working software is in the hands of your users. In this unit, for learning purposes, you mark this work as complete because you have working unit tests and code coverage tests set up in your build pipeline.

At the end of each sprint, or work iteration, you and your team might hold a retrospective meeting, where you share the work you completed, what went well in the sprint, and what could be improved.

To complete the work item:

  1. In Azure web hosting DevOps, go to Boards and then, in the left pane, select Boards.
  2. Move the Create unit tests work item from the Doing column to the Done column.

azure cloud build

Disable the pipeline or delete your project

Each module in this learning path provides a template that you can run to create a clean environment for the duration of the module.

Running multiple templates gives you multiple Azure cloud hosting Pipelines projects, each pointing to the same GitHub repository. This can trigger multiple pipelines to run each time you push a change to your GitHub repository, which can cause you to run out of free build minutes on our hosted agents. Therefore, it’s important that you disable or delete your pipeline before you move on to the next module.

Choose one of the following options.

Option 1: Disable the pipeline

This option disables the pipeline so that it doesn’t process further build requests. You can reenable the build pipeline later if you want to. Choose this option if you want to keep your Azure best web hosting DevOps project and your build pipeline for future reference.

To disable the pipeline:

  1. In Azure Pipelines, navigate to your pipeline.
  2. From the drop-down menu, select Settings:
  3. Under Processing of new run requests, select Disabled and then select Save.Your pipeline will no longer process build requests.

 

Option 2: Delete the Azure DevOps project

This option deletes your Azure web hosting DevOps project, including what’s on Azure Boards and your build pipeline. In future modules, you’ll be able to run another template that brings up a new project in a state where this one leaves off. Choose this option to delete your Azure web hosting DevOps project if you don’t need it for future reference.

To delete the project:

      1. In Azure cloud hosting DevOps, go to your project. Earlier, we recommended that you name this project Space Game – web – Tests.
      2. Select the gear icon next to the project name.

    The icon might not appear until you move your mouse over that area.

    1. In the Project details area, scroll to the bottom, and then select Delete.
    2. In the window that appears, enter the project name, and then select Delete a second time.

Your project is now deleted.